Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

First of all I was just having a little ride on this small white Fell pony who I take out once a week. Now I was having a little bit of fun, just trotting around, jump a little pole here. Danno (the pony, not some random man) decides he’s a bit excited and does a little bucking which is fine y’know because he does that quite a lot. I shout at him, give him a hearty kick to tell him off and then he gets a bit worse, twisting and turning until finally he stands stock still, his mind still working out what to do to get me off and suddenly he’s got it……

He REARS.

So in short, Sunday was a rather interesting ride, once dismounted (no I did not fall off whoever assumed that I did, honestly I only lost a stirrup but decided once he’d touched the floor again that I’d rather not get chucked off) I promptly shook with adrenaline and then had the most absolutely wonderful high, because I had sat my very first rear, not fallen off and wanted to get back on and ride again.

It is experiences like that, that give us as writer’s the ability to convey something others have not felt, seen nor heard. We can express the thrills we have felt in life along with the sorrows, events that none have experienced in the way that we have – suddenly being slightly different or completely odd doesn’t seem such a bad thing. Thanks to time and a bit of Jane Austen‘s wisdom:

‘(I am) not at all in a humour to write; I must write on till I am.’

I have written twenty pages by hand since I last updated this, from those twenty pages I was pleased with one sentence –

‘She smiled sweetly at Highsmith in the sickening way that lovers do when they are in their first throes of the affliction.’

What is the best sentence you have written this week? Last week? Last month?

 
