Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

What a lot of controversial words. Of course I in no way mean to offend people by this blog and these are all my own thoughts and not truths. If you get angry feel free to leave a nasty comment. Anyway – now I’ve covered my blogging ass please read on…

The other day I was wearing a maxi dress (shocking I know but I swear it was a sunny English day in March) I was quite enjoying wearing it, swanning around like a girly prat, and pretending for the first time, probably ever, to act like a lady. I found it immensely ironic that a usual tomboy who was referred to by her friend Ro the other day as being “the manliest out of our group of girls” was put into a long floaty dress and felt the need but also the enjoyment of being…..FEMININE.

Now I in no way wish to knock Feminists or the movement which was spearheaded by so many brave, strong women who gave their lives to see that we have the same rights as men. I do however, want to comment on feminity in our current British culture. I was walking out of my flat the other day in jeans a hoody and a bodywarmer – standard Philippa wear – and when I paused, seeing my reflection, was struck by the fact that from my clothing you really couldn’t tell me sex. I mean that’s BAD! Especially for my loving husband.

I think in our striving to be equal to men not only do we not appreciate the differences between men and women and how they compliment each other, but we also have lost some of our feminity. It seems like a lot of women you see as you walk down the street do not take pride in their feminineness. Do not mistake me, I do not mean some wet goose of a woman who is swooning at everything, but rather a strong woman who understands her feminine side and the strength that lies therein.

How many of us truly want to read a book with a heroine who is quailing at every obstacle thrown her way? I hope no one answered yes. Obviously we want to be saved by our men, but we want to be strong and independent. In real life, instead of striving to be the same as men sometimes we need to allow them to be men and get the door or carry the shopping, this way we allow them to be men and ourselves to be women. I think men want a sexy woman who knows how to get the mould of the bathroom tiles and who fully embraces showing off her womanly curves!

Don’t worry I’m not talking about a superwoman or some stereotypical bimbo – I merely wish to recognise the beauty and good of femininity rather than seeing it as a weak flaw. With that in mind I had better stop writing this blog and go and put a dress on before my husband gets home…..pants I haven’t waxed my legs………:-S

(p.s. If you want to study some strong but feminine women try: Jane Austen, Queen Elizabeth I, Queen Esther from the bible.)

By Philippa Jane Keyworth

