Tags

, , , , , , ,

[slideshow]

God has been good, God is always good, God will continue being good! 

I was offered a job today at a local riding stables and I was pretty much bouncing off the walls with excitement after I accepted it.

There are three good things about this:

1. Answer to prayer.

2. Steady Pay.

3. It involves popoes! (That is my Dad’s word for ponies).

Then I was thinking about how I haven’t got my story finished to submit and I’ve really been kicking myself about it but let’s be honest – If you’re not working much and getting those ideas, frustrations, joys and experiences from work then your writing will suffer and my has come to a somewhat grinding halt!

I had really been beating myself up about it and feeling bad even when I decided to have a break from writing last week but now I have realised it really isn’t my fault. After all if I was to squeeze out writing when I’m not passionate about it, it’s not going to turn out any good anyway!

However, the other side to this is that now I have a job that if full-time hours I won’t have a lot of time to write, that means that in the months notice I’ve given to my two part time jobs I’m gong to have to use my free time ever-so effectively to get my story done – can I hear cheering on?

Well I should damn it! Goodness me I’ve got a lot to do and not nearly enough time to do it in – Checklist:

1. Finish the last few chapter corrections.

2. Skim read the whole for a quick check.

3. Write an amazing query letter.

4. Write a snappy and grabbing synopsis.

5. Research and find out the publishers I want to submit to.

6. Submit and wait!!!

Six whole things to do – holy moly now I’m panicking.

By Philippa Keyworth

p.s. Then again I feel that my dried up creative juices will begin flowing again once I’m working more – there’s never a dull moment with horses.

p.p.s. I am in no way resenting the job – God has really answered our prayers!

p.p.p.s. I made the mega short slide show to show (hehe I used the word twice) the things that I’m hoping will inspire me for my stories, I’m torn between sticking with historical or going back to fantasy….conundrums

