Tags

, , , , , , ,

Kindle Versus Books

Kindle Versus Books

The Kindle has been a contentious subject ever since it’s arrival on Amazon’s online store shelves (metaphorical shelves obviously). Is it a good thing or a bad thing? Are we saying goodbye to age old traditions that should be preserved or is it a positive step forward for the world of literature?

I personally love books. I love the smell of a book shop. The idea of all the different individual books resting on the shelves like doorways into other worlds. I love buying a £00.99 book and reading the publishing date which says 1938 and then opening the covers and pages so they are split right down the middle, then diving my nose in and smelling that delightful musty old smell.

But then I am weird.

My husband, the other day when I was busy nattering to my Mum, Dad and Sister consecutively on the phone, came into the house and unbeknownst to me placed a Kindle on my pillow. Needless to say I was surprised and thrilled, leaping about and immediately downloading a free copy of Jane Eyre and Wives and Daughters as well as the novel my new bookclub is reading in it’s first month!

And so I am torn as I have now been given what I was not sure of and do not want to leave my books behind. So, as I always do in times of confusion, I wrote, mentally, a pros and cons list as follows:

Kindle:

  1. You can download the Classics (which are out of copywriting date) for FREE!
  2. It is much smaller than a library
  3. It won’t clog up you handbag……or manbag
  4. It can hold up to 3,500 something books (or so I’m told)
  5. Whenever you fancy reading something new you can just connect to the internet and download within 30 seconds.
Books
  1. They look altogether better, especially the old ones with gold lettering.
  2. They are a tradition I don’t want to say goodbye to
  3. Holding a Kindle is not like holding your battered old copy of your favourite novel that you dropped in the bath that one time.
  4. You can gather a whole library which will look lovely in that manor house you will one day own….not.
  5. You can tell exactly where you are in the book by judging the width of what you’ve read.
  6. They have that wonderful booky smell.
Kindle Cons –
  1. It’s nothing like holding a real book in your hands.
  2. You can’t throw it in the bottom of your bag without a care.
  3. Kindles have batteries, which granted last long, but do run out.
Book Cons –
  1. They’re bulky and soon fill up your bag (or manbag).
Now I have written and reviewed this list I have decided….on a compromise….I shall buy new books on my kindle because I prefer the old canvas and leather covers of ancient books, and I shall still collect books for my shelves but only old books that look good and contain those classic words from some of literature’s greatest artists (obviously I’ll not read most of these books as I am a heathen and find the majority of them boring! Hahahaha).
