Tags

, , , , , , ,

I was reading a book the other day and I was delighted (yes, I used that word) to find at the back of the book, after I’d finished, the author had written:

When writing I often play music in the background, and sometimes a theme song will grab me for each character, or a certain scene. By the time I’m finished with the story, I have a complete soundtrack. So for those curious —-

I wish I looked this good but actually I’m dancing round my house in hotpants while listening to music….
Music and Writing - Philippa Jane Keyworth - Regency Romance Author

I wish I could play this 😉

I thought it was awesome that that author had thought of putting all the songs that had inspired her into the end of the book. I duly listened to them and can honestly only say that there were three I liked out of the twenty something she put down.

No really my kind of music.

However, I did find it a fascinating exercise in listening and paying attention to what does inspire other people.

It’s kind of like how you look at a lot of artwork and might only like a certain style but then again you can appreciate all the others and it also gives you a higher appreciation of the style which you particularly feel a kinship with.

It’s quite funny, if someone does decide to look down my itunes playlists they would be astonished at what I’ve chosen to name them. It’s not, ‘Rock, Country, DUB step, Classical ’. They’re all story titles – I shall not bore you with them here/embarrass myself by naming them.

Almost every one of my stories has a theme tune like the above author’s and most of them have an entire playlists. In fact I’m listening to a song right now which will be on a playlist for this storyline I’m still mapping out in my head.

Right now you are asking yourself several questions:

Is she insane?

Undoubtedly

What’s this new storyline?

Never you mind…..for now

What song is she listening to?

Well it’s changed now so, no matter!

I mentioned a while ago in this blog, that my favourite writing song was Mumford & Sons – Winter Winds, well that has changed (I guess because I am currently writing in the fantasy genre) and this is my new favourite (along with all the Red Hot Chilli Peppers songs which I have rediscovered):

P.s. My last post prompted some fascinating musings from my good friend Clare and I shall be expanding upon these in a future post so keep a look out for it!

P.p.s. I have officially finished writing a book since my last post…I’ll be discussing more about this in my next post!!! WOOOHOOOOO!

[Blog Ends Here; Story Series Continues]

TWELVE HOURS Later

Still pacing. One, two, three. One, two, three. Ok, this was just feeding my frustration. I was thinking about how long it would take me to starve as a dragon when I heard a voice on some intercom thing. It was him, he hadn’t moved from his chair.

“Look if you morph back we can talk.”

I gave the equivalent of a dragon sarcastic laugh; a snort.

“S’your choice. You need to calm down.”

I roared in annoyance, tell me to calm down, I had a mind to…well, there was nothing to do, but if there was I would bite his head off, no matter how much I didn’t like killing humans.

I paced for another forty five minutes.

“I promise not to hurt you, even when you’re human.” What like before genius?

“It was necessary before, we needed to know what you were for sure.”

I growled, what I was? No one knew that, not even me? Some kind of weird sci-fi thing, and whether or not that was true, it certainly had its perks. Like power, fire and flight.

Well, what did I really have to lose? Even if I was human for a moment I could always morph back to protect myself. I was beginning to doubt more and more that he was a cop, this set up was so odd. I was kinda curious I guess.

My scales were already turning, my body shrinking, morphing. But I was still angry. I kept pacing while I morphed so much practice made it easy. Soon I was walking on two legs, and naked. Opps! Forgot about that part, oh well, breeze past the embarrassment. I swung round to face the guy on the opposite side of the shield. He smiled smugly. He really should stop winding me up. I slammed my palms against the glass in anger. It didn’t zap me. A second later he had retracted it and was holding out a lab coat for me to put on.

“Forget what you saw or I’ll bite you head off.” I snapped at him.

He just smiled, irritating, at least he didn’t laugh or I might have lost it.

“Right, wanna see where you are?”

I couldn’t believe he was genuinely asking that question amiably as though he hadn’t been torturing me just hours ago. I shook my head and cursed under my breath.

“Ok, well you can just go to your room if you want.” he said, his oddly soft voice not really matching with his hard face.

“What the hell!” I cried. “You think I’m staying here?”

“Well, yeah. If you would let me show you around I think you’d see why you’ll want to stay.”

“Ok, ok! Gosh, so demanding aren’t you.” I said frowning.

He smiled; what an ass.

I pattered after him barefoot, holding my white coat closed. We left through some double doors he must have brought me through to begin with. Outside was what seemed to be a huge medical lab, the corridors brighter than the previous room. They were painted white not dark iron grey and bright lights lit them.

“We’re underground right now, safest place for us to be.” he explained, as I looked at air vents.

“This is the medical wing as you’ve probably guessed, we always bring our new inhabitants here.”

“Inhabitants?” I asked, I was a little curious, but I wasn’t going to show it overly, dunno why, maybe because it made me feel vulnerable.

“Morphers, like you and…” he trailed off. Ooo, ominous.

“So, you call me a morpher, that’s a new name, slightly nicer than the ordinary ones I guess.” I said coldly, remembering the other names I’d been given in the past; abomination, disgusting, freak.

“The bedrooms are down that way.” He gestured to a softly lit passageway, the light reflecting a little off the wooden panelling. It looked like some old stately home.  I didn’t offer him a reply, I mean, he’d kidnapped me, was I supposed to bother with pleasantries?

“That’s the living area.” He pointed to a lounge with sofas, TV and complete with people. But it was the way the lounge merged into a garden that got me. It was like the carpet just got a bit longer and more hairy and then turned into grass, just like the walls got more patterned and then turned into Ivy. There was grass with trees, a table in the middle and flowers at the edge. This was funky.

There was a dude sat on the sofa watching TV. He looked blinkin’ miserable, dark eyes, dark hair dark eyebrows frowning. He was staring intently at the TV and even when my guide mentioned I was standing there he just grunted and flipped the controller in his hands as a hello wave. A Mediterranean woman sat behind him, she was beautiful, and she clearly owned him. She wasn’t letting any misunderstanding take place as I eyed them both. She had one perfectly manicured hand on his shoulder and looked through slitted eyes at me. Did she just hiss at me? Or was I imagining things. I thought about giving her a piece of my mind but rethought it, scar face probably wouldn’t like that.

When I came back from my thoughts I heard the TV,

‘There had been reports that more, so called ‘dragons’, are attacking in Northern Carolina America. It is reputed a Piggery there was set on fire and the contents of the barn devoured. Locals are evacuating in fear.”

By this time I had walked into the room despite Miss Hotty’s evil stares, I was watching the screen but I could see both the girl and guy and even Scar face look at me in my peripherals. Right, well clearly from the news I could tell I was no longer in America, great that was just great! I hadn’t flown over oceans before, what if I got hungry?

“What the hell are you looking at?” I said, and then straightening my lab coat I stalked off, this was beyond it, I was not going to be treated like rubbish by this lot.

I was walking quite angrily by myself down the corridor when out of no where that annoying scarface man was walking beside me again.

“Ughhh! What do you want? What exactly do you want from me? If you’re gonna kill me could it be quick. And If you intend on experimenting on me then I’ll die first, get it?” I said swinging around and facing him, still, shoulders back and braced my chin jutting out in defiance.

“And that’s the combat area.”

“Huh?” I blinked and stuttered not understanding, I looked at him questioningly and he just did that annoying smile thing again and pointed behind me.

